Tasmanian Branch

Young Economist Award


The Economic Society of Australia established the Young Economist Award in 2006. Prior to 2011 the Award was biannual. In 2011 Central Council amended the rules to allow the Award to be made annually.


To honour that Australian economist under the age of forty who is deemed to have made a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.


Any Australian (resident) economist under the age of 40, who is a member of the Society, and who has studied and/or worked in Australia for five out of the previous ten years would be eligible.


Selection is determined by a Committee of at least five (5) persons appointed by Central Council. The Committee includes the President (ex-officio), the Editor of the Economic Record (ex-officio), 2 Distinguished Fellows and an ESA Central Council member. Nominations may be made by a Branch. Nominations are to be received by the date set each year by Central Council. The selection committee is to reach a decision in time for the Award to be announced at the next Annual Conference of Economists. Normally, not more than one (1) Award should be made each year. No Award should be made if there is no nominee considered worthy.

Announcement and Presentation

The Award is to be announced and presented at the next Australian Conference of Economists, whenever possible. The Award is to be accompanied by a citation. The Awardee is to be invited to present a lecture at the next Australian Conference of Economists.


The Winner of the 2016 Young Economist Award is Professor Lionel Page. Read Professor Page's Citation.

Past recipients include:

  • 2013 Professor Chris Edmond
  • 2012 No Award
  • 2011 Andrew Leigh
  • 2009 Professor Paul Fritjers
  • 2007 Professor Joshua Gans

Share this with your friends


map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia