< Previous    

Welcome to the Tasmania Branch of the Economic Society of Australia.

History of the Tasmanian Branch

The Tasmanian Branch of the Economic Society of Australia was formed in November 1924 at a meeting convened by L.F. Giblin (Tasmanian Government Statistician) and J.B. Brigden (Chair of Economics at the University of Tasmania) and D.B Copland (the pioneer of Economics at the University of Tasmania and its previous chair).  A week later the branch's constitution was adopted and the then Governor of Tasmania, Sir James O'Grady was elected as its president.


Share this with your friends


map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia